The New Monkee’s of Richmond

No, no not the store on Libbie and Grove that my mom shopped at for years.  I’m talking about the new Monkee’s of Richmond coming to the Shoppes at Westgate in Short Pump!  I was leaving Nordstroms right around Christmas when I thought I spotted my favorite little Monkee’s logo across the street.  I jammed on the breaks and almost caused an accident, not good since I have a horrible driving record.  But, I quickly got in the right lane and pulled over to the shopping center, you know the one that has some other great Richmond faves like Tweed and Jingles?  I was overjoyed to see that my favorite store at the beach was opening a store in RVA.

Some background on Monkees.  It’s a franchise of sorts, with stores in GA, NC, OH, SC, TN and VA.  The original store is in Wilmington, NC right next to Wrightsville Beach.  I happen to spend quite a bit of time there and have gotten to know the shops REAL well.  Monkees was immediately on my radar.  I think the swarms of women outside gave it away.  I was pleasantly surprised when I went inside and did a little shopping.  It has a great boutique feel but is packed full of merchandise.  This is a little bit of a bold statement, but they have one of the best shoe selections I have seen in quite some time, especially for a small store.  They boast big shoe names like Emilio Pucci, Christian Lacroix, Claudia Ciuti, Jeffrey Campbell, Kate Spade, Marc Jacobs, Sam Edelman, and Tory Burch.  Monkee’s also has great work and going out wear from Alice & Trixie, BCBG, Diane von Furstenberg, Milly, Nanette Lepore, Susana Monaco, Tibi, Tocca, and Trina Turk.  They do an excellent job of mixing expensive with not super expensive, which I think is important and proof of why they do so well.  I think you will also like their bold choices of color.  You won’t see a ton of black and white pieces in their store, but more pattern and bright pieces.

Cobblestone Couture is excited to welcome Monkee’s to Richmond.  According to their Richmond website, they are “coming soon”.  To our friends in Short Pump that might know the inside scoop, please let us know more details about their arrival!  I encourage you to check out their main website at www.shopmonkees.com in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

